Writers of the Future 2nd Quarter Winners

Winners Announced: 2nd Quarter Writers and Illustrators of the Future Contests Year 40

The L. Ron Hubbard Writers and Illustrators of the Future Contests are pleased to announce the second quarter winners for its 40th year.

For the Writers of the Future Contest, the winners for the quarter ending March 31, 2023, are:

  • First Place – Rose and Alice Robilliard from Great Britain. This is the first time that a writing team, and a sister writing team, has won first place in the Contest.
  • Second Place – Sky McKinnon from Washington
  • Third Place – James Davies from Maryland

And for the Illustrators of the Future Contest, the winners are:

  • Ashley Cassaday from Texas
  • Tyler Vail from Texas
  • May Zheng, her family originally from Shanghai, China, and now residing in New Jersey

Congratulations to them all! They will be published in 2024 in L. Ron Hubbard Presents Writers of the Future Volume 40.

You can find the complete list of Finalists, Semi-Finalists, and Honorable Mentions at:

Writers of the Future 2nd Quarter Winners Announced for Volume 40

Illustrators of the Future 2nd Quarter Winners Announced for Volume 40

In 1985, with the release of the first volume of the series, L. Ron Hubbard wrote, “The artist injects the spirit of life into a culture. And through his creative endeavors, the writer works continually to give tomorrow a new form.” The Contest Director Joni Labaqui stated, “I am delighted to be able to announce these quarterly winners. We remain true to the direction set by Mr. Hubbard.”

The award-winning writers and illustrators will be flown out to Hollywood for a week-long workshop with Contest judges, who are some of the biggest names in the field. Plus, a lavish awards ceremony.

Writer judges are Kevin J. Anderson, Dr. Doug Beason, Dr. Gregory Benford, Orson Scott Card,  Brian Herbert, Nina Kiriki Hoffman, Nancy Kress, Katherine Kurtz, Todd McCaffrey, Rebecca Moesta, Larry Niven, Jody Lynn Nye, Dr. Nnedi Okorafor, Tim Powers, Kristine Kathryn Rusch, Brandon Sanderson, Dr. Robert J. Sawyer, Robert Silverberg, Dean Wesley Smith, and Dr. Sean Williams.

Illustrator judges are Echo Chernik, Lazarus Chernik, Ciruelo, Vincent Di Fate, Diane Dillon, Bob Eggleton, Craig Elliott, Larry Elmore, Laura Freas Beraha, Brian C. Hailes, Brittany Jackson, Val Lakey Lindahn, Stephan Martiniere, Mike Perkins, Sergey Poyarkov, Rob Prior, Dan dos Santos, Shaun Tan, Tom Wood, and Stephen Youll.

The Contests are both free to enter and are found at www.writersofthefuture.com.

L. Ron Hubbard initiated the Writers of the Future Writing Contest in 1983 to provide “a means for new and budding writers to have a chance for their creative efforts to be seen and acknowledged.” Based on its success, its sister contest, Illustrators of the Future, was created five years later to provide that same opportunity for aspiring artists.

The intensive mentoring process has proven very successful. The 547 winners and published finalists of the Writing Contest have published over 2,000 novels and nearly 6,300 short stories. In addition, they have produced 36 New York Times bestsellers, and their works have sold over 60 million copies.

The 394 past winners of the Illustrating Contest have produced over 6,800 illustrations, 390 comic books, graced 700 books and albums with their art, and visually contributed to 68 TV shows and 40 major movies.

For more information on the writing contest and illustration contest and to see the annual awards gala, go to www.writersofthefuture.com.


0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *