L. Ron Hubbard Golden Pen Award Winner: William T. Katz
L. Ron Hubbard Golden Brush Award Winner: Laura Diehl 


First Quarter

  1. “Kinship” by Jason Stoddard
  2. “Flotsam” by Bradley P. Beaulieu
  3. “The Weapons of the Lord Are Not Carnal” by Andrew Tisbert

Second Quarter

  1. “The Plastic Soul of a Note” by William T. Katz
  2. “Bottomless” by Luc Reid
  3. “Cancilleri’s Law” by Gabriel F.W. Koch (Lawrence Schliessmann)

Third Quarter

  1. “Sunrunners” by Matthew Champine
  2. “Shipwoman” by Roxanne Hutton
  3. “Last Days of the Madhi” by Tom Pendergrass

Fourth Quarter

  1. “The Key” by Blair MacGregor
  2. “Sleep Sweetly, Junie Carter” by Joy Remy
  3. “Monkey See, Monkey Deduce” by Jonathan Laden

Published Finalists

“Asleep in the Forest of the Tall Cats” by Kenneth Brady

“In Memory” by Eric James Stone

“Conversation with a Mechanical Horse” by Floris M. Kleijne


Yancy Betterly

Laura Diehl

Robert Drozd

Shawn Gaddy

Luis G. Morales

Douglas Pakidko

Fabrizio Pacitti

Brian Carl Petersen

Brian C. Reed

Matt Taggart

Beth Anne Zaiken

Writer Winners
Complete List

Writers of the Future Contest Winner

Illustrator Winners
Complete List

Illustrators of the Future Contest Winner