1993 • Volume 9

This was the first of many years in which the annual Awards ceremony was held at Author Services, Inc., in Hollywood, California. Author Services also again provided the facilities for both the writers’ and illustrators’ workshops. The event was held on Saturday, September 25, 1993. Nancy Cartwright, the voice of Bart Simpson on The Simpsons, helped with the presentation and preparation of the time capsule.

Two of the winners from this year, Sean Williams and Eric Flint, are New York Times bestselling authors and have gone on to become Writers of the Future judges.