1988 • Volume 4

Yamashiro’s Restaurant in Hollywood, California was the venue for the fourth Writers of the Future Awards ceremony, which was held on Tuesday, May 24, 1988. In the lush outdoor garden setting, judges presented the awards and also participated in panel discussions.

Speakers included Frank Kelly Freas, Ramsey Campbell, Larry Niven, Frederik Pohl, Dr. Jerry Pournelle, John Varley, Gene Wolfe and Algis Budrys. Among the other guests were Dr. Charles Sheffield, Orson Scott Card, Forrest J. Ackerman, Julius Schwartz and Frank Frazetta, who painted the cover for the anthology. As a special surprise, the cover “came to life” with the arrival of a costumed horseman in identical dress to the image in Frazetta’s painting.

The 1988 WotF workshop was held at Pepperdine University in Malibu, California.