The 4th Quarter winners of the 33rd year of the L. Ron Hubbard Writers of the Future Contest 


The 4th Quarter winners of the 33rd year of the L. Ron Hubbard Writers of the Future Contest were announced today by contest coordinating judge David Farland.


1st Place – Andrew Peery of Durham, North Carolina
2nd Place – Ziporah Hildebrandt of Shutesbury, Massachusetts
3rd Place – Andrew L. Roberts of San Lorenzo, California

They were chosen from a group of 8 finalists and are awarded a week-long intensive workshop, an awards ceremony and are also published in the annual national bestselling anthology, L. Ron Hubbard Presents Writers of the Future. Andrew, Ziporah and Andrew will receive a cash prize for their win.

A Grand Prize winner is announced at the annual awards ceremony and is selected by another panel of judges. The ceremonies will take place in April of 2017 in Los Angeles, California.

Well-known contest judges include multiple Nebula and Hugo Award winners such as Kevin J. Anderson, Orson Scott Card, David Farland, Nina Kiriki Hoffman, Rebecca Moesta, Larry Niven, Jerry Pournelle, Tim Powers, Robert J. Sawyer, and Sean Williams.

“We have a very diverse group of winners this year, in fact we have winners from 10 countries overall”, Farland stated.

Following the 1982 release of his internationally acclaimed bestselling science fiction novel, Battlefield Earth, written in celebration of 50 years as a professional writer, L. Ron Hubbard created The Writers of the Future writing contest in 1983 to provide a means for aspiring writers of speculative fiction to get that much-needed break. Due to the success of the Writing Contest, the companion Illustrators of the Future Contest was created in 1988.

The intensive mentoring process has proven very successful. The 380 past winners of the Writing Contest have published 838 novels and nearly 4,000 short stories. They have produced 27 New York Times bestsellers and their works have sold over 50 million copies.

The 310 past winners of the Illustrating Contest have produced over 4,500 illustrations, 356 comic books, graced 594 books and albums with their art and visually contributed to 36 TV shows and 46 major movies.

The Writers of the Future Award is the genre’s most prestigious award of its kind and has now become the largest, most successful and demonstrably most influential vehicle for budding creative talent in the world of speculative fiction. Since inception, the Writers and Illustrators of the Future Contests have produced 32 anthology volumes and awarded nearly $1Million cumulatively in cash prizes and royalties.

For more information go to


0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *