2nd Quarter Writers of the Future Winners

  Writers of the Future 2nd Quarter Winners, Finalists, Semi-Finalists and Honorable Mentions   Congratulations to you all! Winners: First Place – Doug Souza from California Second Place – Emeka (Walter) Dinjos from Nigeria Third Place – Stephen Lawson from Kentucky Finalists: Mary Garber from Florida JT Gill from Virginia Lynn Kilmore from North Carolina […]

Day 7 – Writers of the Future Volume 32 – Awards Event

Then the final day came that we have all been building up for — the L. Ron Hubbard Achievement Awards…

Writer Winners – 4th Quarter

The 4th and final Quarter of the Writers of the Future Contest have just been announced and you can find the winners here.

The Strong Antagonist

Storytelling has grown from the first years of Writers of the Future. One of the biggest things that science fiction and fantasy storytellers have learned is to create a compelling protagonist. No longer is it enough to fight evil because it is evil and the character is good. Now, a good story must build up the protagonist….

Exposition – “It’s a Trap!”

When preparing to submit to Writers of the Future, or to a publishing house, how can you make your piece stand out?

Writers of the Future Workshop

The famous Writers of the Future Workshop, previously only provided to Contest winners, has been made available to anyone wanting to attend. The first workshop was taught by David Farland (Wolverton), Orson Scott Card, Kevin J. Anderson, Rebecca Moesta and the Winner Twins (Brittany & Brianna). We had a great turnout with attendees from 13 […]

Writer Winners – 2nd Quarter

Writers of the Future 2nd Quarter Winners Finalists, Semi-Finalists and Honorable Mentions   Congratulations to you all! Winners: First Place – Stewart Baker of Oregon Second Place – Ryan Row of California Third Place – R.M. Graves of London, England Finalists: James Beamon of Virginia Christian Carter-Stephenson of Isle of Wight, England Rachelle Harp of […]

The Practice of Writing

I first heard about the Writers of the Future contest in 2012, when I went to a writers workshop and two women I met in the class told me about it. I’d been writing about three years at that point (focused exclusively on novels), and had only written two short stories in my life.

A Bit of History

Over three decades ago the first Writers of the Future Awards ceremony took place at the famous Chasen’s restaurant in Beverly Hills, California on February 6, 1985. Present were Ray Bradbury, Robert Silverberg, Theodore Sturgeon, Jack Williamson, Dr. Gregory Benford, Roger Zelazny and A.E. van Vogt…

Krystal Claxton & Amit Dutta Create Together on “Planar Ghosts”

Krystal Claxton is readily willing to admit there are a few things a little . . . off about her. First of all, while she’s a computer technician, her true passion lies in the realm of word-smithing and storytelling.