Writers of the Future Volume 35 Foreword Award

L. Ron Hubbard Presents Writers of the Future Volume 35 Garners Fourth Book Award: 2019 Foreword INDIES Book of the Year

Foreword Reviews, a book review journal focusing on independently published books, announced L. Ron Hubbard Presents Writers of the Future Volume 35 as Silver winner of its INDIES Book of the Year Awards in the science fiction category. The INDIES recognizes the best books published in 2019 from small, indie, and university presses, as well as self-published authors.

All of the award-winning books can be viewed here.

Managing Editor Michelle Anne Schingler commented on the awards, “For a couple of months a year, our editorial team gathers together for the collaborative work of reading through the thousands of worthy INDIES submissions we receive, whittling categories down to the few books that best represent the spirit and potential of independent publishing. The task of judging books is never easy—our impulse, as readers, is to embrace all titles—but it’s work that we take seriously, as do the librarians and booksellers who further narrow the categories after us.

“The end result is short lists of winners that represent the best of the best—independent titles that you absolutely should not miss. In these troubled times of tremendous change, we hope that you’ll find these selections inspiring—a reminder of what we’re all working toward together.”

Over 2,100 entries were submitted in 55 categories, with Foreword’s editors choosing approximately 9 finalists per genre. Those finalists were then mailed to individual librarians and booksellers charged with picking the Gold, Silver, Bronze, and Honorable Mention winners.

The Foreword Reviews INDIES Book of the Year Award marks the fourth award earned by Volume 35. The other book awards earned are:

Writers of the Future 35 has won the Benjamin Franklin Gold Award, NYC Big Book Award winner and Critters Best Anthology Award

Benjamin Franklin Gold Award

Critters Annual Readers Poll for Best Anthology

Critters Annual Readers Poll

NYC Big Book Award for Best Anthology

NYC Big Book Award


All of which makes L. Ron Hubbard Presents Writers of the Future Volume 35 the most award-winning book in the 35-year history.

2 replies
    • John Goodwin
      John Goodwin says:

      Well, we’re kinda chuffed about it too. It was your’s and 11 other stories that made these awards possible!


Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *