International Writers of the Future 35th Awards Ceremony Set for Live Worldwide Broadcast

Writers of the Future volume 34 wins best anthology in NYC Big Book Award competitionL. Ron Hubbard Presents Writers of the Future Volume 34 was announced as the winner in the “anthology” category for the New York City Big Book Award by awards sponsor Gabrielle Olczak. Book submissions were collected from six continents: Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, North America, and South America.

The New York City Big Book Award is one of the newer book awards created with the purpose of recognizing quality writing from around the world. Olczak noted, “Submissions came from the imprints of large traditional publishers such as HarperCollins and Random House; large independent press publishers such as Galaxy Press, Roman & Littlefield, and Wiley; small press and independent authors such as Marti MacGibbon to Sahar Aref.”

“What is very special with book awards,” noted John Goodwin President Galaxy Press, “is that they fully align with the purpose as laid out by the Contest’s founder, L. Ron Hubbard to provide a means for the aspiring artist to be seen and acknowledged.” Not only are the published winners in volume 34 national bestselling authors and artists due to sales, but they are also now authors of a national award-winning book as well. Based on the sequence in the book, these writers and corresponding illustrators are:

Writers of the Future Volume 34 cover

Writer Winner

Erik Bundy
Erin Cairns
Jonathan Ficke
Jeremy TeGrotenhuis
Vida Cruz
Darci Stone
Cole Hehr
Janey Bell
Eneasz Brodski
N.R.M. Roshak
Diana Hart
Amy Henrie Gillett

Illustrator Winner

Adar Darnov
Kyna Tek
Sidney Lugo
Brenda Rodriguez
Reyna Rochin
Quintin Gleim
Maksym Polishchuk
Bruce Brenneise
Alana Fletcher
Jazmen Richardson
Anthony Moravian
Duncan Halleck

Over its 34 year history, the Contest has recognized 404 winners who have gone on to publish 1,150 novels and 4,450 short stories. Of these, 192 are still active with a writing career—that’s over 40%. Twelve of these Contest winners have gone on to become NYT bestselling authors: Dave Wolverton (aka David Farland), Sean Williams, Jo Beverly, Nancy Farmer, Lisa Smedman, Karen Joy Fowler, Patrick Rothfuss, Tim Myers, Eric Flint, Dean Wesley Smith, Tobias Buckell, and Elizabeth Wein. And Contest winners have garnered 155 major awards.

And with the last four volumes of Writers of the Future hitting national bestseller lists—and each of the winners becoming national bestselling authors and illustrators as a result—Contest entries continue to increase each quarter with entries from around the world.

For more information, go to

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *