23 Posts
15 Users
35 Likes
Shockhawk
(@shockhawk)
Bronze Member
Topic starter

Greetings Writers -

I was wondering if any of your got any of your quarterly pieces professionally edited before submitting them.

I’m new to this game but I have noticed that a lot of the previous winners thanked spouses for editorial work... what if we don’t have wonderful editorial spouses? Or amazingly smart friends who are willing to edit?

Do any of you less than fortunate writers pay professionals for help on your submissions?

Shockhawk

Now! This is it! Now is the time to choose! Die and be free of pain, or live and fight your sorrow! Now is the time to shape your stories! Your fate is in your hands! - Auron FFX
Vol 37 - X, R, R, R
Vol 38 - HM, X, X, X
Vol 39 - HM, HM, X, X
Vol 40 - X, X, HM, R
Vol 41 - R, WIP,

Posted : May 23, 2020 1:35 pm
AliciaCay reacted
Disgruntled Peony
(@disgruntledpeony)
Platinum Member

Greetings Writers -

I was wondering if any of your got any of your quarterly pieces professionally edited before submitting them.

I’m new to this game but I have noticed that a lot of the previous winners thanked spouses for editorial work... what if we don’t have wonderful editorial spouses? Or amazingly smart friends who are willing to edit?

Do any of you less than fortunate writers pay professionals for help on your submissions?

Shockhawk

I don't have the money to pay an editor, but I've participated in critique trades with many people on the forums over the years. That can be a helpful way to go.

If you are in difficulties with a book, try the element of surprise: attack it at an hour when it isn't expecting it. ~ H.G. Wells
If a person offend you, and you are in doubt as to whether it was intentional or not, do not resort to extreme measures; simply watch your chance and hit him with a brick. ~ Mark Twain
R, SF, SHM, SHM, SHM, F, R, HM, SHM, R, HM, R, F, SHM, SHM, SHM, SF, SHM, 1st Place (Q2 V38)
Ticknor Tales
Twitter
4th and Starlight: e-book | paperback