NEW USERS! INTRODUCE YOURSELVES!

4,056 Posts
752 Users
1929 Likes
848.7 K Views
storysinger
(@storysinger)
Platinum Plus

Welcome Cobalt. Your signature shows you have a talent for success. I look forward to watching you interact with our many friendly forumites. 

Today's science fiction is tomorrow's reality-D.R.Sweeney
HM x5
Published Poetry
2012 Stars in Our Hearts
Silver Ships

Posted : July 11, 2021 6:41 am
(@wulfmoon)
Platinum Plus Moderator

Posted by: @cobalt

Hi, all!

I've been submitting on and off to WotF for a couple years now with increasing success. I made Finalist for Q2 this year, which was super exciting. I figured one of the things I've been missing is a good writer's group to help me hone my craft. Ya'll seem like a super-supportive bunch so I thought I'd join you folks, learn from you, and hopefully make Winner some day!

A little background about myself: I've been writing stories since I was a kid, primarily science fiction but some fantasy. I grew up on a steady diet of franchises like Star Trek, Stargate, Halo, Harry Potter, and Lord of the Rings. For a few years in middle/high school I made a comedy webcomic based on the video game Half-Life, which I think was formative for me. Since graduating college and entering my professional career I've pursued writing as a hobby more seriously with the ultimate goal of publishing a novel. Ray Bradbury and Arthur C. Clarke are currently my biggest influences.

Looking forward to writing with you!

Welcome aboard, Cobalt! We’re happy you’ve found us!

Congratulations on earning finalist in Q2. I thought I recognized you!

Personally, I don’t think you can get a greater example of entrancing prose than in the works of Ray Bradbury. And he was the master of the speculative short story. Excellent choice for a writing role model!