Group shot of 1989 winners.

1989 • Volume 5

The fifth Writers of the Future Awards ceremony was held in New York at the Trusteeship Council Chamber in the United Nations building on Saturday, April 29, 1989. The Society of Writers at the United Nations hosted the event and Hans Janitschek, President of the Society, gave the welcoming address. This was possibly the first celebration of science fiction on an official international stage.

To see the full list of winners click here.