Frederik Pohl congratulates Gold Award winner Dave Wolverton.

1987 • Volume 3

The third Writers of the Future Awards ceremony was held Friday, April 24, 1987 at the Windows on the World Restaurant atop the World Trade Center in New York City. Special guests for the event included legendary science fiction authors Isaac Asimov, Robert Silverberg, Roger Zelazny, Frederik Pohl, Larry Niven, Dr. Jerry Pournelle and Gene Wolfe, along with Star Wars actor Mark Hamill, editor Brian Thomsen (Warner Books) and DC Comics editor Julius Schwartz.

To see the full list of winners click here.