Coffee Table Book #3


A Special Silver Anniversary Edition Coffee Table Book Reflects on the Most Successful Writing Contest in the World

LOS ANGELES, CA—Writers of the Future, now in its 26th year, has recognized 300 winners to date and provided the first professional publication for these aspiring writers in the yearly anthology containing their stories.  As a result of the Contest’s unparalleled success rate, Galaxy Press, the publisher for the Writers of the Future series (, is publishing a special edition coffee table book recognizing its winners and the Contest’s celebrated judges—some of the most accomplished writers of science fiction and fantasy—scheduled for later this fall.

Kevin J. Anderson (Dune prequels, Saga of Seven Suns, and Writers of the Future Contest judge), as the senior editor for the project, has been able to make certain observations while reviewing all 25 years. Regarding the publishing industry’s  enthusiastic acceptance of the writing contest, Kevin has noted “that in the more recent years, the winners have not had time to get their full career momentum going, but that they’ve already started racking up pro sales.” He went on to state, “Also—and this is astonishing—if you measure success by whether our winners/students leave the workshop and go on to publish professional novels or multiple pro short stories [most aspiring writers would call that success], Writers of the Future has about a 35% success rate. That’s unheard of for a writing class or workshop.”

An overview listing the winners, winning stories and photos for each of the first 25 years can be seen at and there are videos with highlights over the recent years at

The Writers of the Future Contest was created in 1983 by best-selling author L. Ron Hubbard as a means for aspiring writers to have their works seen and acknowledged. The success of the original writing contest gave rise to the companion Illustrators of the Future Contest. As it has always been, there are no entry fees for the contests.

In addition to substantial cash awards, the contest winners and selected finalists are showcased in an annual anthology published by Galaxy Press, and are flown out to participate in an expenses-paid week-long workshop led by professional published writers and illustrators.

For more information, go to or

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *